Marines


Victim & Witness Assistance Program

 

Victims and witnesses often face adverse effects from crime. In the Marine Corps, victims and witnesses shall not face the effects of crime alone. The Victims and Witness Assistance Program ensures victims and witnesses are provided with meaningful assistance once a crime is reported. The VWAP is specifically designed to lessen the effects of crime on victims and witnesses and to help them understand and participate in the military justice processes. The military justice system operates to ensure good order and discipline is maintained I the Marine Corps. Without the cooperation of victims and witnesses, the military justice system would cease to function.

The Marine Corps will do all that is possible, within the limits of available resources and the law, to assist victims and witnesses of crime without infringing on the constitutional rights of the accused. Particular attention shall be paid to the victims of violent crimes including, but not limited to, child abuse, domestic violence, and sexual assault. If you are a victim or witness of a crime, please complete the Initial Information for Victims and Witnesses of Crime brochure (DD Form 2701) or call your unit Victim Witness Assistant Coordinator (VWAC).

Who do I contact for victim and witness assistance at the local level?

At most military installations, the military legal office is the central point of contact for victim and witness assistance. You can call the base, post, or installation legal office and ask for the Victim and Witness Assistance Coordinator. To find information on specific U.S. military installations, go to Defense.gov and select the appropriate military branch.

Are there any state resources for victims and witnesses of crimes?

Yes. Try an Internet search using key words such as VICTIM, WITNESS, ASSISTANCE, and the name of the state or city you want information about. There are also a number of sites that maintain information on state resources as well as internet links to on-line information about state resources. For sites with links to state resources, go to our Related Sites page.

 

Marine Corps Installations East RVWLO
Col. Joshua Brindel 
joshua.brindel@usmc.mil
(910) 451-5339

Marine Corps Logistics Base Albany VWLO
Capt. Louis C. Josephs
louis.josephs@usmc.mil
(229) 639-7414

Blount Island Command VWAP
Tyronne Filer 
tyrone.filer@usmc.mil
(904) 696-5343

Logistics Command VWAP
SSgt. Steve A. Lee
steve.a.lee@usmc.mil
(229) 639-8443

Staff Judge Advocate
Lt. Col. Christopher M. Hoover
christopher.hoover@usmc.mil
(239) 639-8099 

Assistant Staff Judge Advocate
Capt. Trevor Perkins
trevor.perkins@usmc.mil
(239) 639-8099

Behavioral / Family Assistance Program
Kimberly Gibson
kimberly.gibson@usmc.mil
(229) 639-5252

Marine Family Program Director
Marcus White
marcus.white@usmc.mil
(229) 639-7938

Uniform Victim Advocate
SSgt. Nathaniel Garza
nathaniel.m.garza@usmc.mil
(229) 639-5570

Uniform Victim Advocate
SSgt. Edjunique Mormon
edjunique.morman@usmc-mccs.org
(229) 639-8574

Medical VWAC
HM1 Ryan C. Romer
ryan.c.romer.mil@mail.mil
(229) 693-5980

PMO VWAC
LT (PMO) Bobby Henderson
bobby.henderson@usmc.mil
(229) 693-8444

Albany Civilian VWAC
Santricia Mercer
santricicia.mercer@usmc.mil
(229) 693-8896

Albany Civilian SARC 
Michelle Stevens
michelle.d.stevens4@usmc.mil
(229) 639-5252

LOGCOM SARC
Maj. Mark Phelps
mark.phelps@usmc.mil
(229) 693-6672

Marine Corps Logistics Base Albany